Oh, Nine…

As we bid farewell to 2009 I have to admit that in my heart I am saying, “Good Riddance!!” This was the first year of my life that I attended more funerals than weddings, worked harder and longer than I have since Saxby’s 2002 Senate race, and struggled through a depression that lingered like bad congestion.  Needless to say I am ECSTATIC at the thought of beginning anew.  But before I kick 2009 in the pants I wanted to take this moment to focus on the positive of 2009 and list out a few of my favorite blog posts of the year.

1. My First 5K
Out of everything that happened in my personal life this year, this is by far my most proud accomplishment. I blogged about it throughout my training leading up to the actual race. You can click the running category link for more entries relative to my training. I am also proud to say that I am pressing on with running in 2010 and am already registered for the 2010 St. Patrick’s Day 8K!

2. Feed a Child, Save a Life
Another personal high point of 2009 was becoming one of the 15 founding members of David’s Hope International, a fund raising and relief organization my friends and I started after returning from Eburru, Kenya in January. We accomplished alot as a brand new organization including securing our 501(c)(3) status from the government in record time and raising over a quarter million dollars in only 10 months. Work responsibilities kept me from fully engaging in DHI as I wanted to this year but I plan to redouble my commitment to the group in 2010. There is nothing more important to me in 2010 than helping feed, clothe, educate and nurture the destitute children we worked with in Kenya. We actually sent our first ever DHI mission team back to Kenya on Sunday and they are working there now. Check out our web site davidshope.org for more info.

3. How I met My Husband series
After hearing a sermon that inspired us to share our “marriage testimony”, Brian and I decided to “go public” with the story of us. We have never shared our story so intentionally as we did this year on the blog, and I say we because Brian read and approved each message. He may have even tweaked a few parts, I can’t remember for sure. In any event, it was a blessing to look back at how God orchestrated our meeting, courtship, engagement, and marriage and we LOVE sharing our story with others. We actually are now leading a small group full of newly-weds and are looking forward to continuing to share the joys and sorrows of married life with these new young couples!

4. Honoring Amy
I mentioned at the beginning of this post that I attended more funerals than weddings this year. One of those funerals was in honor of my friend Amy Knapp who died of cancer earlier this year. She was too young to die like that. Its still something I can’t fully process, why God wanted her back so soon, but I know that we will see each other again and I am pretty sure she is hanging out with my grandma right now who just passed two weeks ago. I know we don’t know a whole lot about the next life but what I do know is that I going to see my loved ones again because we have one thing in common faith in Jesus!!

5. I’m Mrs. Bright Side
Earlier this year I started a second blog called The Daily Bright Side. I was looking to blog about the sparks of brightness and light that make the days more enjoyable. I tried keeping up two blogs for a while but it was way too much for me to manage both the Daily Bright Side and My Living Canvas so I decided to bring the Bright Sides to my main blog as a permanent on-going feature. Click on the Daily Bright Side category link to read the bright sides of 2009!

So there you have it, my personal top 5 of 2009.  I hope you enjoy them.

Oh, and one more thing, 2009 brought us all the joy of GLEE on FOX.  I would be remiss if I didn’t give an honorable mention to my favorite show of all time.  If you have not seen Glee, check it out on Hulu.

So in honor of Glee I am posting the most fabulous concluding performance to the first season.  This is truly MUST SEE TV people!
Vodpod videos no longer available.


Leave a Reply

