This Year I Am Going ALL IN

Today is my birthday.  Today I am 34 years old.  I really don’t feel 34.  I feel somewhere between 28 and 30, honestly.  But alas, one cannot change one’s age or turn back the wheels of time, so I am willingly settling into my mid thirties today with quiet confidence that this is going to be a really great year.

For a long while I was afraid of 2011.  Not of turning 34, but afraid of what 2011 would hold for Brian and me. Everything we have done in life and marriage from 2005-2010 seemed to be wrapping up last year.  Dreams were being realized, seasons were ending or changing in various ways and I literally had NO IDEA what was going to happen next.  I guess in ways, I still don’t.  But here we are, a month and 12 days into 2011.  Jesus hasn’t raptured us yet, so there must be more work to do.

I mentioned in previous blog posts that my word for the year is COURAGE. I am beginning to see why this is my word for the year.  Over the last several weeks, I have been talking with Jesus about some things.  And He has been answering my prayers and showing me the path He wants me to take.  But taking HIS path is going to require a 100% courageous leap of faith.

I believe that the Lord is calling me to go “all in” this year in my devotion to him.

I’ve been a Christian practically all my life.  Raised in the church, baptized before I reached double digits, I have a deep and abiding understanding of what Scripture teaches us about life and love and sacrifice.  However, I have never gone “all in” on these teachings.  Despite any appearances of already having gone “all in” and even my own attempts to trick myself into believing that I have already gone “all in” I know in my heart of hearts that I have never laid every single one of my chips on the table and pushed them into the middle, wagering all I am and all I have on my FAITH in God the Father, Jesus Christ and his Holy Spirit.  Ive always held a chip or two in my hand, or shoved an ace or two up my sleeve, just incase.  But honestly, thats not really having faith.

Now I am as sure as I have ever been that God is calling me to go “all in” for him and to start living every area of my life like I really believe every word He has said is true. In this, my 34th year, I am committing to have courage and faith and to go “all in” with God, no matter where He leads or how He leads, I am resolving to trust, follow and obey His teachings.

Courage + Faith = Obedience.

Hebrews 11:1, 6

“Now faith is confidence in what we hope for and assurance about what we do not see… And without faith it is impossible to please God, because anyone who comes to him must believe that he exists and that he rewards those who earnestly seek him.”

About AnnieLaurie

Wife | Mom | Paleoish ... Playlists are my love language
This entry was posted in God, Life as I Know It and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to This Year I Am Going ALL IN

  1. I’m finding that what looks like going all-in now, never seems like it later. Whenever we go “all-in,” we end up growing spiritually, which leads us to see how much we still have to give. I think it’s a never ending cycle.

    • AnnieLaurie says:

      Will, thanks for the comment! I agree with you take, and as I look back on life I suppose I can see times where I went as all in as I could then as I grew spiritually more was required. great thought! thank you!

  2. I have reread this so many times. Love it, love another year of knowing you – happy 34th!

  3. Pingback: Going All In = Major Life Changes! | My Living Canvas

  4. Pingback: Secrets Pondered and Treasured | My Living Canvas

Leave a Reply

