Bright Side Repost: Review of Julie and Julia

I really enjoy cooking. It’s therapeutic to me in more ways than one. I enjoy being creative with food, I enjoy following and learning new recipes, and I especially love EATING!

Knowing this about me, it will come as no surprise that I saw Julie and Julia this weekend at the AMC theater down the street from my condo. It was SO GOOD. If you are a foodie, a writer, or love someone who is one (or both) of these, you will enjoy seeing this movie. I definitely enjoyed the Julia Child story line the best. It was so fun watching Meryl Streep portray this quirky yet confident, tall, American woman as she brought smiles to crabby Frenchmen selling produce at local markets. I loved the scene of Julia’s first day at Le Cordon Bleu cooking academy. After being judged (and schooled) in an onion chopping exercise by the all-man class of chefs, Julia goes home to practice chopping onions. Her husband comes home to find his wife behind the largest mound of onions I have ever seen. He couldn’t even enter the kitchen because his eyes were watering so badly.

The Julie story line was also entertaining and inspiring. I think I am just a bit green that she had this awesome idea (to cook her way through Mastering The Art of French Cooking and write a blog about it) and I did not. I wish I could think of a great idea like that. I love blogging and love cooking. God I wish I had thought of it first!

My favorite part was simply watching the Paris scenes. We are hoping to visit Paris late next year so seeing all the Paris parts of the movie got me really excited to visit.

Maybe I will video blog me taking a cooking class in Paris when we visit. If I do I will be sure to post it here.

One thought on “Bright Side Repost: Review of Julie and Julia

Leave a Reply

