Who Inspires You?

This question was asked today in a meeting I attended about motivating employees. There were around 50 or so managers in the meeting, divided up at round tables of about 6 or so people each and we were asked to share around the table who is the one person in this world who has inspired us the most.

And I couldn’t think of an answer.

I still can’t think of an answer.

Who inspires me? There really isn’t one person who has inspired me in life. The question that resonates more with me is “what inspires” not so much “who inspires”. I’m more inspired by qualities and characteristics of people than I am inspired by one sole individual.

For example…

Underdogs inspire me

Risk takers inspire me

Creatives inspire me

Musicians inspire me

Authors inspire me

Those who fight for justice and truth inspire me

Those who do what is right no matter the cost inspire me

Those who are not content with or intimidated by the status quo inspire me

Those who “overcome” inspire me

Leaders who stand up for those they lead no matter the personal cost inspire me

Husbands who live their wives inspire me

Wives who respect their husbands inspire me

Parents who put their children before their jobs inspire me

But if I am being honest, I am not nearly as inspired by people as I am by experiences.

Music

Nature

Missions

Travel

Circumstances

Spontaneity

Conflict

Surprises

So I don’t know what that says about me, that I am not inspired by people as much as I am inspired by experiences. I find that if you look to a person for inspiration, they will eventually let you down. Experiences will never let you down, because there is always a lesson to be learned from every experience. We just have to open our eyes and tune our hearts to recognize those opportunities to learn and grow. And learning and growing are the results I believe should come from inspiration.

What do you think?

About AnnieLaurie

Wife | Mom | Paleoish ... Playlists are my love language
This entry was posted in Life as I Know It and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Who Inspires You?

  1. myheartresonateswithaglorioussound says:

    I like the list you made 🙂

    I was just telling Scott last night (and I know so many people say this man inspires them) but John Piper.

    Seriously this mans heart and love for the Lord. To the point where he is able to just lose himself in poetry written about how much he loves the depths of the Lords heart. He inspires me to seek the Lord more and to fall in love with his attributes 🙂

  2. Jenny Rain says:

    I have been thinking about your question since yesterday. The first thought I had was my Aunt Nonie. She had this completely devoted love of the Lord & was in church every single day. She baked for the whole town and never charged anything over what the supplies cost her. She just did it because she loved to bake. Everyone in the town knew her as Aunt Nonie. I remember one Thanksgiving she won a turkey and was SO suprised and grateful because she had never won anything before, it was so sweetly humble and gracious. So perhaps my aunt nonie.

    But also, your list – I love that too 🙂

  3. Mississippi Sue says:

    Annie Laurie, your thoughts are right on target!

    When I thought about the question the first person that came to my mind was our Aunt Virginia. She has always inspired me because of her quiet walk with our Lord which speaks volumes to me.
    Her character (to me) is Christ like. She is humble and gracious and kind to anyone whom she meets. Example; in a grocery store she will gladly move to let others have a better view at the meat counter. She exhibits the example given in Galatians 5:23. She always puts others needs before her own and serves with a loving heart.
    Honestly, her example of quiet service to those in her life, with uncomplaining love, has always touched my heart even when I first met her 35 years ago when she was looking after her parents and her brother and the many others in her neighborhood back in Horatio.
    Yes, to me, she is a wonderful inspiration and a living example of the Christian walk.
    And no doubt about it, truly, the experiences we experience that touch our hearts and souls are precious gifts from God as are the people that He sends our way.

    I love you,
    Aunt SueEllen

  4. Pingback: Honoring Amy « My Living Canvas

Leave a Reply

