Whats Happening in Brazil

I have posted about Guatemala earlier this week, and more stories will come later this month about my friend’s experiences with child sponsorship there.

Today I want to talk about Brazil. We visited a Compassion project there in 2004. The town was called Contagam, it was inland, in the Minas Gerais Provence near Belo Horizonte, the capitol of Minas Gerais.

I do not have a sponsor child from this project, because at the time of our mission trip, all the children there were sponsored — Praise the Lord!

However, this trip included a series of home visits that rocked my world. I saw a level of poverty on this visit to Contagam that left me speechless and in tears. I still grapple with why we will always have the poor among us. I force my heart to take solace in the mansion that awaits the least of these in heaven. It heightens the urgency to tell the good news of the gospel and spread the hope it provides to the children suffering from poverty in this world.

Later this month, I hope to post a story from my friend Virginia who worked at this project, about her experiences there. Until then, I will let this video speak for itself:

3 thoughts on “Whats Happening in Brazil

  1. Lorraine says:

    Thank you for this video. I teach ESL to mostly Brazillians in the Metrowest area of Massachusetts and I have fallen in love with them. Their dancing eyes, affectionate nature, abundant appreciation for everything and devotion to family and friends are things we should appreciate them for.

    When people travel 6,000 miles (+/-) to work 6 or 7 days a week delivering pizza, be a housecleaner or a daylaborer, making very little, there must be abject poverty in their

  2. Lorraine says:

    Thank you for this video. I teach ESL to mostly Brazillians in the Metrowest area of Massachusetts and I have fallen in love with them. Their dancing eyes, affectionate nature, abundant appreciation for everything and devotion to family and friends are things we should appreciate them for.

    When people travel 6,000 miles (+/-) to work 6 or 7 days a week delivering pizza, be a housecleaner or a daylaborer, making very little, there must be abject poverty in their country and worse.

    God help them. I will sponsor a child there. Pray for those poor souls.

Leave a Reply

